Richard Warren

20thc British art and poetry (mainly), plus bits of my own – "Clearly I tap to you clearly along the plumbing of the world" (W S Graham)

Me and my new friends

At Christmas I became (at last) a smartphone user. So today I was able to divert myself photographically during an elongated shopping trip around the margins of Wolverhampton. The results are unedited. (Click for enlarged slides.)


Though this certainly beats some other shopping diversions (e.g. hand drier spotting), it’s trickier than you might think, given that shops tend, unreasonably, to elevate their dummies on plinths as if they were statues.

“To discover newer and more mysterious aspects we must have access to new combinations. For example: a statue in a room, whether it be alone or in the company of living people, could give us a new emotion if it were made in such a way that its feet rested on the floor and not on a base. The same impression could be produced by a statue sitting in a real armchair or leaning against a real window.” (Giorgio de Chirico, “Statues, Furniture and Generals”, 1918.)

And taking selfies from a low angle turns out to give a most most unfair impression of jowliness. I was unsure whether to go for deadpan or not, but in the event deadpan proved surprisingly difficult. I note a developing urge to mimic the body language of my silent companions.

5 responses to “Me and my new friends

  1. Jo Cottrell January 6, 2017 at 8:27 am

    I do enjoy your posts – and this one made me chuckle!

  2. jeffollerton January 6, 2017 at 9:52 am

    I wonder if you were spotted by security on their CCTV system? Might be a difficult one to explain….

    • richardawarren January 6, 2017 at 10:46 am

      Mmm yes. On the other hand, I’m not sure what the “offence” might be. I think playing hide and seek in M&S with my three year old grandson got me thinking about the ludic possibilities of large shopping areas.

      • jeffollerton January 6, 2017 at 11:04 am

        “Loitering with intent to be ludic” perhaps?

        Talking of playful, did you see my comment regarding Treece and pulp magazines? I wondered if you had any thoughts on that, or is it too fanciful?

  3. richardawarren January 6, 2017 at 2:40 pm

    Yes, sorry Jeff, I should have responded to that. Out of my depth really, but it doesn’t seem fanciful to me. I was wondering about films too.

Leave a Reply

