Richard Warren

20thc British art and poetry (mainly), plus bits of my own – "Clearly I tap to you clearly along the plumbing of the world" (W S Graham)

The little Lord Jesus asleep on the cross

William Blake, 'The Christ Child Asleep on the Cross'

William Blake, ‘The Christ Child Asleep on the Cross’

An image to ponder. Perhaps only Blake could get away with “crucifying” Baby Jesus; the astral-plane idealism serves to moderate the shock. (Millais’s realism in Christ in the House of his Parents allows only for some dainty stigmata as a comparable foreshadowing.)

I look at my new grandson and try to foresee the whole life, pain and all, in his baby’s face.

Have a good Christmas!

One response to “The little Lord Jesus asleep on the cross

  1. Charlotte Mackie December 26, 2014 at 10:06 pm

    In response I post a recent poem of mine…

    OFFER
    We sit round the table,
    three generations – my son,
    my grandson, my partner and me.

    I have insisted on a family breakfast –
    so rare in our busy household, dipping in and out,
    all odd hours, meals on laps – someone’s always eating.

    We laugh with our grandson when he makes a joke –
    ‘I’m not me, I’m daddy!’ as we join in his two year old humour.

    And he tries so hard to make that laughter last
    long after the joke has drifted away
    into the morning air, and we leave the table.

    Oh, my grandson, how I long for you
    to be always surrounded by laughter, and happy times,
    how I wish for arms strong enough to hold you tight.

    But I can offer you my hand to hold –
    it will be here as long as I am.

    C.A.Mackie Dec, 2014

Leave a Reply

