Richard Warren

20thc British art and poetry (mainly), plus bits of my own – "Clearly I tap to you clearly along the plumbing of the world" (W S Graham)

Skellywags

My first (and only, and still unfinished) attempt at a short film in stop frame animation. Intended as a small homage to José Guadalupe Posada, with a nod to the clothes-horse skeletons of James Ensor. Done on a MacBook using the built in camera, hence the jerky, grainy quality, which I rather like. The music is “Besame Mucho” played by Dave Rowland on a scratchy Joe Meek demo. Click on the still below for the link.

I still have a big bag full of unused plastic skeletons and skulls. Some day I might finish this …

2 responses to “Skellywags

  1. Emma February 12, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    Wonderful – I especially like the walking skeleton sequence! Did it take long to make?
    Have you seen the Quay Brother’s short skeleton animation from the film Frida?

  2. richardawarren February 12, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Hi Emma! You’re too kind – it’s a very very long way indeed short of the Quay Brothers … Thanks for the link. Somehow missed “Frida”, though I love Kahlo’s work, obviously. I adapted a diagram of a stock walking sequence from an animation handbook, and actually managed to time the walk roughly to the music, so was chuffed about that. Even at the 12 frames per second in “I Can Animate” (which is really a kiddie program, so suits me) it took quite a while. The technology is simple enough, but it needs stuff set up permanently in a corner, so you can do a bit at a time and keep coming back to it. Fluctuating light is a nuisance, which is why I opted for the grungey, amateurish look …. Have you done any stop frame animation? Have I missed any on your site?

Leave a Reply

