Richard Warren

20thc British art and poetry (mainly), plus bits of my own – "Clearly I tap to you clearly along the plumbing of the world" (W S Graham)

upstand inside me

And one about the indwelling of the Holy Spirit.

Upstand inside me

Upstand inside me, most insidious ghost;
conform to the axis of my spine.
Unfold those features that are fully yours
and mould them mine.

Fasten your face behind my hollowed eyes
and over a while inform my flesh,
so that our likenesses be all the more
and none the less.

Into my walk accommodate your step,
and hold to your bone my alien glove;
be overly familiar to me,
but under love.

So we are molten, met in a mirrored gazing,
life of my being, end of my death.
Into my brain your seeings, out of my mouthing
jumps your breath.

Only for sake of the splicing we had been splintered,
purely for holiest meeting born.
In two, for mysterious purposes of collage,
we were torn.

Erase my errors; reconstruct my judgements.
So may we know for what things are.
Let charity, in me, now penetrate all things,
near and far.

copyright 2011 Richard Warren

Leave a Reply

